CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

STRANDED

Today was one with too much choice! I kept thinking "That's the one", first when the car was surrounded by a flock of starlings, then when I was opposite the plant across the bay which lets out huge clouds of steam at regular intervals. But then I saw this seal apparently stranded on the rocks. I wondered whether it was dead at first, but then realised it had turned over to look at me. Those might be grazes on its tummy, but I couldn't see any wounds or bleeding, and I think it had just got itself stranded on the rocks when the tide went out. By the time I saw it, the tide was about 20 minutes from covering the rocks again, so I'm sure by now it's swimming round to the creek to meet up with its mates on the mudbanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.