stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Springer

Another weekend, another trip down to Portobello beach.

I know I've been a bit of a one trick pony recently and to be honest today was all set to be another bird blip. I'm having a lot of fun photographing our avian friends just now and it'll probably be a while before it's out of my system. It certainly won't be over before I get a nice clear shot of a gull performing its in-flight dry. I did manage to catch a couple of shots but none were as clean as I'd like. It's amazing to watch although too fast for the naked eye really to see what's happening. All you see is a kind of mid-flight shimmy before normal flight is resumed. I will capture this performance clearly one day.

Anyway, in spite of a fantastic couple of hours observing and shooting the gulls this little lady came along and stole the show. She was determined to clear the beach and did a pretty good job it has to be said. It was only fair, seeing as she scared away my subjects that she take their place.

If you have time, you can see more of her and some of my bird blips here.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.