Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Mother's Day

I love Mother's Day because I can't wait to see what brilliant gifts my boys have made for me at school. Anyone remember Jed's treasure chest last year? Well, they didn't disappoint this year either. As well as the touching home made cards, Jed made a felt purse...sewed it together neatly and sewed the button on (very impressed) and Rowan made a lovely box containing a necklace with a heart shaped chocolate. As if this wasn't enough, Lewis bought my favourite (Toblerone) as well as a card, slippers and hand cream. Jed made me a cup of tea (his first ever) and it surpassed even Graham's tea for perfection. Thanks boys, I'm so proud of you all.

Of course, being me, there had to be some madness to the day also. This came about when Jed and I went to the local Co-Op. I bought a few things and then asked for cashback. The shop assistant was asking about what Jed had got me for Mother's Day so I showed her the purse and told her about the cup of tea. Jed and I then called at my Mum's house but she was out so we hung her gifts in a carrier bag on the front door. We then set off for home and, as we waited at traffic lights, I didn't have my handbrake on and momentarily lost concentration slightly nudging the car in front. I just held up my hand to say sorry but he got out of his car, so I thought I'd best get out of mine to inspect any damage...Of course, there wasn't any. I apologised and he said "Well, you just don't bump into the car in front. You just don't do it." I thought he was a moron. I mean, did he think I deliberately thought oh, I know what, I'll bump into the car in front of me for a laugh. I'm not saying I wasn't a moron for doing it in the first place but who hasn't?!

We got home and I unpacked the things I'd bought from the shop. When I looked in the purse for my cashback, it wasn't there! I checked my pockets and the car before realising that I couldn't remember receiving the cashback. So, off I traipsed to the Co-Op again. The manager said he would check the camera. I waited for 15 minutes and he came to tell me that he couldn't really tell as the film was very slow. He then said he would have to cash up the till to see if it was balanced. No worries, I'd wait. He then said he would have to cash up the entire weeks worth before he'd be able to do todays till. So, I gave him my details and came home. I couldn't be certain that I hadn't been given the money but I couldn't see how I'd lost it when I only had the purse that Jed had made for me and two coat pockets. I had the receipts in my purse, just no money. Anyway, the manager did ring back to say that the till was up so he would give me my cashback. Hurrah. It did mean yet another trip to the Co-Op but at least I know what happened to the money.

We then went off on the train to Manchester for a meal. The sun was out, Manchester looked glorious and it's been a fab day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.