You have to smile...

By ams

McFly Day

McFly day is usually Friday. Chris Moyles made it so when he decided he was going to play 'Star Girl' every week on a Friday.
For one week only, we got two McFly days in a row. They brought their 'Keep Calm and Play Louder' Tour to the O2 Academy in Leeds.

I'm not a vastly experienced gig goer, I was a late developer when it came to being at all interested in music, my CD collection being really quite small until my very late teens/early twenties [Early twenties? How did I get past that period and into the 'mids'??].
I also have a pretty low tolerance level for loud music, it hurts my ears (I inherited this from my father). Even songs that I really like and find myself wanting to turn up, I have to turn back down a bit because I can't stand it. This doesn't make going to see live music very easy for me. I just can't quite get my head around why being able to feel your jeans moving from only the pure force of sound, and not actually being able to tell whether you are making any noise while singing along, can be a good thing.

Another thing which doesn't help me in gig-going is that when they handed out the tall genes, I think I'd nipped out to the loo. Why don't they let small people jump straight to the front? Or put the stage higher up?

Hence I couldn't really see much, I did manage to spot all members of McFly on stage, when they were stood at particular places on stage. I grew to dread the moments when they insisted people put their hands in the air, and wasn't particularly impressed when a girl in front of me managed to 'sway' from side to side meaning that just as soon as I could see, she moved in the way and I had to move the other.


That all sounds very negative. I had an excellent night! Next time I think I'll take a leaf out of this child's book though, and get me some ear defenders!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.