Street Steamie

Cleaning the streets in Edinburgh.

Big Cleanup.

I was out late with Marchmont at the Filmhouse, where I had no idea what we were seeing. With most cinemas you're there for the film and you put up with the cinema - overpriced unhealthy food, etc, and you get out once it's finished. The Filmhouse is the opposite - there beforehand for yummy grub and beer, find a film, stay after for more beer and quality chat. We saw Bel Ami with that vampire chap in it, and very good it was too.

Then I was barrelling down the Royal Mile to the last train, when I saw this guy steaming up the streets and screeched to a halt. I abandoned my bike and after a brief chat I set up the camera for a few long exposures. A bit too quick, my composition could have been a lot better with more of the church and a wider angle, but it's turned out quite nicely. He offered to turn the hot steam on but I had to rush. Damn! I was so late into the station that I had to put my bike on the train because there was no time to lock it up, so it's in Dunbar for the first time in a long time. Perhaps I'll give the poor old bike a clean too while it's here :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.