Cherry Blossoms

This year is a special celebration of the famed cherry blossoms: 100 years since Japan first gave them to the States. In 1912, the mayor of Tokyo gave 3,000 cherry trees to Washington. These trees now turn the Tidal Basin into a cloud of pink and white each spring -- this year a few weeks early due to the unusually mild winter.

More than a million people visit Washington each year to see these blossoms and attend various events. This year, the celebrations are bound to be even grander -- and you'll probably see a few more pictures of both these wonderful trees and scenes and of various events.

The pic here is of my favorite monument in DC: the Jefferson, across the Tidal Basin. I'll prob post the rest of my pix to my Smugmug account, as I had a really tough time deciding on what to feature today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.