What!

By Greenfingers

Windflowers

I think the common names of plants are so descriptive.

This is the Anemone blanda or windflower and it certainly likes dancing in the winds we have had recently. Admittedly the wild version is white and lives in the woods, and I have some of those somewhere in the garden, but I like the alpine version with it's lilac flowers.

At last my bonsai larch has started to come into leaf (or should it be needle). It has looked pretty dead recently and as it's usually one that starts into growth early I was worried that it might have died. I re-potted it this winter. The feathery bright green tufts are now well advanced so I can relax again. I used to have 21 bonsai but set some free and gave some away so now I'm down to a pine that is about 25 years old, a forsythia - not sure how old - and this larch which I got 30 years ago and is about 60 years old. I used to belong to the Bonsai club in Ayr many years ago.

Off to see the RSA New Contemporaries tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.