soulsharer

By soulsharer

The running man...

So a few weeks ago i started running and after 1,2,3 and 5 mile runs i signed up to run the Great Birmingham Run (half Marathon) in October..

Everythng was going fine untill i started having trouble with my left knee, the outside of it actually, ive had lots of advice from different stretches to using foam rollers, People saying its my ITB etc..

The one thing that i did know is that i needed new trainers and i was sure that this was the main problem.

Today, i went to sutton runner and got my gait Analysed, it seems there's nothing to much wrong here and that i have a pretty normal/straight running style...
So my main issue was finding trainers with good cushioning, as i want the best for my knees (i suffered as a kid quite bad with osgood schlatters, having the whole of my left leg in plaster for 2 months)
So i brought these, Asics Gel - Cumulus 13, considered to be quite a good trainer i think, i tried some brooks, new balance, nike and these asics on!! The Asics just seemed like a better fit to me...

Anyway, got home went for a walk with the dogs, got back and went for a run, attemting to do 5 mles, but instead after 2 mils and a time of 16min 18 sec, i had to pull up with my knee again (now i had given my knee about 3 weeks to recover!!)

So im back to the drawing board, continue to do my stretches, and try and strengthen my knee But i have a feeling its not going to go away, I dont know much about the ITB But from what i've researched it could be i suppose but i just dont think t is!!

to me the pain (and its hard to pin point) is between the knobbly bits on the outside of the knee .. I could go to the docs BUT what will they say?

anyway....

im frustrated ;-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.