Mt Herbet

Well, the view from 2/3 the way up anyway ;-)

This mornings mission was to ride Mt Herbert, no mean feat with 800m of vertical climb over 7km. My GPS won't tell me, but I am pretty sure I walked around half of it. It's pretty steep in places, and lots of fences, and rocks. Man, was I buggered when I reached the top.

Fab view though and one that I don't see often, looking back over the Port Hills, Christchurch, and in the distance the Southern Alps.

Ride time was 1 hr 15 to the top, then just 21 minutes down, so a total of 1 hr 37. That's interesting, as last years ride time was 1:57, interesting because I was convinced I was pushing more than riding this year, maybe not compared to last.

Absolutely fabulous ride down, although I have to say the new bike is not nearly so plush as the old one.

Then a coffee at the Diamond Harbour Country Store, fab coffee and lovely place.

Home, sorting out bike stuff, then the camper, then the lawns.

And then I might relax ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.