Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Objects in Motion - Jim White

Objects in motion,
tend to stay that way.
You can't waste the whole damn day,
loving what you need to cast away.
For from the flame of love,
comes the cinder of regret.
Sometimes the thing you cling to most,
is the thing you'd best forget.


Another day in at work today and now I'm back home and I'm kind of on the mend but I'm still feeling rough. Never mind I'm off tomorrow so hopefully a long lie will mean I'm back to 100%.

Jim White is someone I only discovered a couple of years back. He supported David Byrne at the Usher Hall, and while I didn't make it along early enough to catch him lots of friends who went said he was excellent. Based on that and the fact the album he'd just released at the time, "Drill a hole in that substrate and tell me what you see" was getting great reviews everywhere I decided to give it a shot. I loved that album so bought his other two tehn got tickets to see his tour to promote the album. He was a fascinating guy and a natural raconteur who I'd definetely go and see again. In his youth he'd been a professional skater and surfer then a model, but during that time had always written music. Just as his music career looked like it was going to take off he had an accident in the saw mill where he was working at the time and mangled his fretting hand on a band saw. As a result he had to re learn guitar playing one fingered with open chords.

David Byrne signed him to his label where he is still recording.

Musically it's strange Americana style stuff. It has a country-ish feel to it but was one of the pre-cursors for what is now called alt. country. Garth Brooks he certainly isn't. He tends to write very sad but haunting and moving songs, as kind of demonstrated in the lyrics above.

I couldn't find a video for this track, but there's another of Jim's tunes here.

I couldn't edit any further back than this. So here's the racks (or where not available tracks by the artists) from my earlier blips.

Derrick May
Gang of Four
Led Zeppelin - Ten Years Gone
The Violent Femmes
Sonic Youth - Stones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.