The Wren

By TheWren

Hellebores

It was the art class today and I think I managed to salvage something of my painting after I had sponged out the top part last week because I wasn't happy with it. At least now the background does not take over from the subject and while I was all for ditching it and starting again, I may have saved it!

The dogs were eagerly awaiting my return and after lunch I decided to take them to the river so that they could have a swim and cool down. The water level is getting quite low but was sparkling in the sunlight and the surrounding trees are bursting with pride at their new, soft, green finery. The pungent smell of wild garlic surrounded the entrance to the walk but there are still only a few flowers out. I know you can eat wild garlic but not sure if it is the leaves or flowers which are edible. Any suggestions?

Back home and I was straight into my gardening clothes and out to start weeding and mulching. I took a few photos while I was at the river and also in the garden but it was this one, with hellebores looking glorious against the brilliant blue sky, which won the day. After all it isn't every year you can capture hellebores against such a perfect sky in Scotland in March!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.