Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blue bunting

It's actually a cirl bunting. A male one, I think. I found out today that they are very common in France, but neither of us had seen one before this winter so he's rare to us. Would have been better if he'd been posing further away from the large plastic bowl that I'd been mixing soil and sand in... but you can't have everything.

After an early start to the day (before even the birds were up) with a very sore shoulder and neck, I took one of the magic tablets and returned to bed. Happily by the time work started I was fit and well again. More painting today and finally the end (of the painting) is in sight for the guest room. Then lots of planting (particularly a packet of freesias that I thought I'd never get to the bottom of), a complicated series of playdates for the kids and the day is over. Another very hot day, but with clouds gathering in the evening, I think the weather may cool down a little now.

Oh, and last night the ceiling of the (unoccupied) house next to ours fell down. Gave Mr B (who was still up) a shock with all the noise, but there seems to be no damage to our house and, hopefully, the roof will hold up for a little longer. Shame really - it is basically a beautiful banqueting hall (would have been the one for the chateau that our house is part of) - all wood panelling and ornate detailing. All gone now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.