Some Days

By Euphemist

Owl Boxing

The local wildlife rangers visited us at Archerfield, East Lothian, today.

Owl boxing was on the agenda.

Not pugilism, nesting!

When the company bought the estate, the Mansion House was in a poor state of repair, and was home to several breeding pairs of barn owl. So as part of the development we maintain these owl boxes. Sadly, a couple were damaged in the storms this winter, so we have repaired them and today with the wildlife rangers re-sited them.

Rangers Dave (his surname really is Wilde!) and Bob were talking about the success of the boxes at Archerfield, and commented on the numbers of owlets they have rung over the past few years! Now I know that owls are on the whole non-metallic so I was quite surprised by this, but as I sit at home thinking about it I realise they must have meant wrung which quite surprises me too!

(Or maybe they should have said ringed!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.