time to prey

at the moment we have four buzzards constantly over our house and land. I could watch them all day. They seem to be riding the air currents that rise up our steep hill. They fly out over the motorway, catch a wave and sweep over towards our house, circle round and go and catch another. It's beautiful to watch and their calls are so haunting.

Sadly, I don't have all day to watch them, which is why I only got around to blipping them today and then only once the sky was overcast instead of the blue skies and sunshine I could've got a few days ago. But ten minutes of watching their antics was enough to leave the day behind (and it certainly needed leaving behind!) and make me drift off into an imaginary world....at the start of every new decade of my life, I have drawn or painted a self-portait to show who I think I am at that moment. These birds set me thinking of the next one. It's still a while away but I've got an image in my head that I will improve on before committing to, probably, a big bit of canvas. I need to practice my painting too. Otherwise it will just be embarrassing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.