CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

TROMBONES

This window is on the side of the Carlton Bingo Club in Hartlepool which, prior to 1968 was a cinema. It opened in 1936 as the Regal Cinema, designed by well-known cinema architect William Illingworth (1876-1955) who also designed the New Victoria Theatre, Bradford and the Saltaire Picture House, and was Lord Mayor of Bradford for some years. It was later renamed the Essoldo, part of a group of about 240 cinemas owned by a company based in Newcastle. The name was made up from ES(ther), SOL(omon) and DO(rothy) Sheckman, the owner and his wife and daughter.

I love these old art deco cinemas. This one has three more windows like this above the entrance and another around the corner. I wanted to blip the entrance, but there were a lot of fearsome looking elderly ladies having a smoke under the front canopy and I didn't quite have the nerve. I haven't been inside, but it could do with a bit of tarting up externally. At least it hasn't been left to rot like the old Odeon, a couple of hundred yards up the road.

I got all the above information from Wikipedia, so it must be true. And my blip title?
The building opening in 1936 - 76 years ago.

76...
trombones...
bingo call...
See what I did?

I'm feeling very sleep deprived and exhausted after my whirlwind trip away, and having B not sure whether he's got hay fever or man-flu, but probably a combination of the two. Will catch up with commenting over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.