Marj's Musings

By MarjHarrington

purple profusion

When we lived up north, verbena was an annual. Last year we were looking for plants to put in our newest garden bed and the woman at the nursery suggested verbena to us...I thought...I said I wanted perennials. She then said that we would be amazed how quickly the verbena would spread. Well, she sure was right. It very quickly overtook the whole small garden, overshadowing the creeping phlox and threatening to continue right on past the edging. I cut it back with scissors, not carefully, but just cut it so that it was more in the shape that I wanted it. The verbena continued to grow and get cut back, all through the summer and into fall. It even bloomed some during the winter! It was the earliest plant to start blooming this spring, and now it is just the most beautiful bright jewel in the middle of my yard. I'm going to restructure the planting bed so that it can grow as much as it likes and not crowd out all the other plants...I love it!!! And yesterday it was covered with butterflies....heaven!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.