Northsea

By Northsea

Letter Bomb Proof

As the subject was mail today there was only one post box that I could photograph and it was this one. This Victorian post box has stood on Corporation street for over 100years and is probably Manchesters most famous. When the IRA bombed Manchester in 1996 the truck was parked just across from this post box and all the images for days after featured this red box amongest the carnage. It stood as a beacon of imovability (is that a word?). Thankfully things have moved on since those days but I always think of it when I pass. I also love looking at the royal emblem on the fronts that dates them. I saw a George V and 2 Edward VII boxes today.
In other news I had a great afternoon talking to a facinating Professor at the University about future cities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.