The hand life deals you

You know, after all the crap hands I have been dealt with in life, sometimes you get an amazing hand - Like this last fortnight... Let me elaborate

Was seconded to a project team in work, working with the Government grant section of the lovely SG. Put in a lot of hard work and impressed all the right people, my secondment was recently turned from temporary to a proper job offer - A shift from front line to a more varied and exciting role, just before this another job opportunity came up in an area I had unsuccessfully applied for before. I was invited to apply (A good sign). I had an interview for it yesterday, even though I had been offered this other position I had applied for the other role, so thought it polite and experience building to go along and give me best effort.

Lo and behold arrived in work this morning to another job offer. I was amazed, 2 offers in two weeks based purely on my attitude and abilities - And here were two groups of people selling themselves and departments to me.

Eventually opted for the newer of the job offers - It was such a tough decision to make, pretty much a 50/50 split between the two - In the end I shut out thoughts of "What will they think if I say yes/no" and let my heart/gut decide.

My first official day will be May 1st and I am looking forward to the challenges the new role will offer me and working my way through them, developing myself as much as I can on the way. (Still keep in touch with a few of the folks in this department though, hopefully made some very very good friends here"

Just wish the cards had been kinder to me during Scabby Queen, Blackjack and Rummy at Sarah's house this evening, Schnappy seemed to win a lot when she was dealing, and I have pictures of her shuffling the cards "FACE UP" Hmmmmm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.