Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Where the bee sucks ...

Just here, in our garden, a few cowslips are now in flower.

I took this photograph, because I wanted an image for a card I was making for our forty-ninth Wedding Anniversary, which is tomorrow. But I was delighted, of course, by this beautiful and delicate flower. We bought two or three plants from a garden centre a few years back, and the cowslips have spread satisfactorily, albeit slowly.

For the record, here is the finished card, displayed along with a couple of companions.

Where the bee sucks, there suck I:
In a cowslip's bell I lie;
There I couch when owls do cry.
On the bat's back I do fly
After summer merrily.
Merrily, merrily shall I live now
Under the blossom that hangs on the bough.

This verse is, of course, preceded by Prospero saying "But this rough magic I here abjure"; however, I shall not abjure such good rough magic as this cowslip offers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.