PlanW

By PlanW

I'll Take Good Care Of You ...

No, not Wilkinson's new intimate grooming line, although you'd be forgiven for thinking that. These are my new gardening gloves and, frankly, I'm cock-a-hoop.

Usually, around bankers-bonus time, I treat myself to a swanky new pair of deluxe, pricy, sexy, lycra and leather gardening gloves (Gold Leaf if you're interested) at around twenty quid a throw. I didn't do so last year and when I hit the garden a couple of weeks ago I realised that my lovely glubs have a hole in the finger. I always get a hole in the right index finger.

Anyway, the grey dreariness of the day today allowed me to shop guilt free (why can't I leave the garden when the sun's shining? Its an illness.) and off tae Livvy I set.

I managed to get out of the one-price shop with just two bags of swag, although I could barely move for the weight. My favourite ever nail varnish (hope it doesn't mean it's discontinued), toiletries various, my own bodyweight in chocolate and gardening stuff galore.

Primark yielded some work shoes, reduced to £3, surprisingly nice though. No, really.

Then off to Wilkinsons for a box of 3 raspberry canes, earlies, mid-summers and lates for £3.98 and, what's this, lookie-likee gardening gloves? Wow, they're not beautiful yellow leather but they are soft grey leather, they are lycra and they are £5.98. I'll take them. Just wish I'd bought more than one pair now.

Elsewhere, I went on a frock frenzy, I swear it's like putting tinsel in front of a magpie. Any savings made elsewhere were quickly eradicated as the tally mounted. If it's a slow news day tomorrow, you might get to see one. Or two. Or three.


Secret Garden, Quincy Jones 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.