Artefacts

Freya and I spent a love,y evening together watching 2 episodes of Sex & Sensibility - The Allure of Art Nouveau on BBC iPlayer tonight. It was a recommendation from my friend Mhairi who assumed I would have seen it but thankfully I caught it before it expired. I love watching shows like that with Freya as she is developing her knowledge of art history and her own appreciation for different styles which she draws on for her own work.

It was especially fun as the first episode explored Paris, the second featured Glasgow and the third which we have yet to watch looks at Vienna and the works of Gustav Klimt. I have spent time in each of these cities avidly soaking up the incredible art nouveau design and works of my favourite artists especially Margaret MacDonald and Gustav Klimt.

After the episode it led us to forage around for some artefacts which had been much neglected in recent years.

The brooch I was given about 7 years ago by the evil ex of the evil dog, but it was too beautiful to throw away. It has hung on a dreamcatcher I made at that time tarnishing in the window so I gave it a good polish and will store it properly and possibly even wear it again from time to time, it is such a lovely piece it deserves to be worn.

The clock was given to me on the occasion of my 21st birthday (a wee while ago now - Freya is nearer that age than I am!!) by my beloved grandma. I had a real passion for Mackintosh design at that time and had jewellery, picture frames and postcards galore. As they fell out of fashion it got resigned to the back of the old cupboard in the hall but Freya has taken on the love for Mackintosh since our trip last week so tonight I gave the clock to her.

The wooden dish was also hiding in the hall cupboard, it was made by my mum when she was the same age as Freya is now, it even has her handwriting Sheila Bennett 2F, on the back. My gran gave it to me a long time ago and tonight I gave that to Freya too as she is now the one at the age of having lots of little earrings and badges and buttons lying about.

I'm glad that all these things have been returned to use, they all have great beauty, and they each have history. From today they will also have a new story to tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.