Diver Driver

By diverdriver

This is yesterday's blip today.

I managed to listen to most of the 'Midweek' programme with Libby Purves on Wednesday, and caught an interview with Donald McRae which I found fascinating. For those of you, like me, who had not heard of Donald McRae before, (Sorry Donald) I quote,

'Donald McRae is a sports writer and author and the only two-time winner of the prestigious William Hill Sports Book of the Year. Born in South Africa in 1961, he grew up under the apartheid regime with his parents and sister. He left the country in 1984 to avoid military service which brought him into conflict with his parents. His memoir 'Under Our Skin' is based on these experiences and is published by Little Brown.'

I got home later that day and ordered the book from a certain on-line bookseller in the hope that it might arrive in time for the weekend when I would need a new book to start.

By mid-day yesterday it had not arrived so we joined Son and daughter-in-law in a visit to a local bookshop - Booka in Oswestry - ostensibly to have a coffee and maybe a piece of cake.

These, apart from the bottom book, are what I came home with.

The two William Ryan books because he is a new author to me, they were recommended by Carrie, the bookshop owner and they were on offer at two for the price of one.

The Nicci French book just because I love their writing and this is one of the few I had not got.

The Jeffrey Archer as I have read a couple of his more recent books recently after a break from him for some years.

The Peter James as it's the only one of his I have not read and as a bonus, it is signed by the author.

And imagine my surprise when I got home to find the Donald McRae book had been delivered.

All in all a good day, but I think you will agree that my choice of blip for yesterday was far better than this one.

I'll try not to miss a day blipping but I have got a back-log of books to read!

Ps. Guess which one I have started?

Pps. I'll save it for you Banana.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.