The Living Years

By emmaneni1

5 hours, 21 pupils and me

Today I went with 10b on a English sightseeing tour of Pecs and it was hard work to say the least!

Zsolnay Mausoleum
The Zsolnay Cultural Quarter which is a new development on the factory site built with money from the Culture Capital scheme. It is a beautiful place with Zsolnay sculptures including this Zsolnay playhouse. I visited the museum 18 months ago, when the site looked like a bomb had hit it, now it's incredible. The Zsolnay factory was also the site of the first tennis court in Hungay. The factory is still in use but now only employees 250 make this beautiful porcelain.

After a slight delay because our coach broke down and a quick trip on a public bus we headed to the Little Mosque which is still in use by the local Islamic community.

The Pharmacy Museum wasn't very interesting for the students but the shop that had been made in the old shop area was very sweet, complete with original shelving.

The Marzipan Museum was more popular especially the film character pieces and Harry Potter for me. The architecture of Pecs pieces took up to 5 months to make and were impressive.

Free half hour in Szechenyi Square! Maccy D's for the kids and a coffee sitting outside a cafe for me. I gave my mum a ring because it was a cafe where we spent a lot of time when she was here and made me think of her.

St Paul and St Peter's Cathedral

Pezsgo (Hungarian champagne ) museum
This was the hardest time for me to keep my responsible adult face on and not let the students hide in dark corners to jump out and poke all of the mould!

Finally The Cella Septichora , all of the sudents and I were dead on our feet by this time.

Once I got home unfortunately I couldn't go straight to bed. After a bath and a quick break I had to write up the 8 pages of scrawled notes I had made during the tour. I hope using English in this way will have helped students become more confident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.