Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Cabin Fever

It was a fail of a bank holiday Monday in many ways, and we blamed the weather; but actually I think that was a bit unfair on poor old Dyeus who was just trying to stand aside and give us a bit of rain for the garden. The really bad weather was down to the people, and we were a bit grey and miserable on the inside truth be known.

On the positive side, had a very good night's sleep, and spent two hours this morning re-writing my CV as I have to put in a job application next week if I want to carry on doing what I'm doing (it's complicated - let's leave it at that). Also made a very nice kedgeree and the five of us had family brunch, The Girl Racer being a bit dozy after getting back late last night from Geneva but we all mucked in. After that it went downhill a bit - should have relaxed positively rather than getting a bit fretful and cabin feverish.

So here is a rainy day blip, although I have to say I quite like it: the fridge door. Quite a lot of past, present and future here, including a picture from several years ago of The Smiling Giant, The Girl Racer, The Dizzle and me; a recently rediscovered picture of Coco the Cat as an adorable little kitten; a postcard of New York (our holiday destination this year); various gift vouchers; The Girl racer and The Dizzle on a slide in a Cornish theme park (fridge magnet version); exam timetables; menu for a new Lebanese restaurant in our local town centre; postage stamps and membership cards; and of course "Grow old along with me; the best is yet to be"...

It's easy to get self indulgent when you've had a day like today but I won't. The fridge door has just reminded me how lucky I am. Tomorrow is another day...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.