world in a grain of sand

By kateann

steel magnolia

Well, artichoke actually as I am sure you spotted, but I would never let accuracy get in the way of a good moderate title.
This artichoke grows in the grounds of the Oxfordshire Museum in Woodstock and I rather like the way it's unbending form contrasts with the soft foliage around it. I would love to have some sculpture in my own garden but can never afford the things I like, and don't like the things I can afford.
I have a great liking for the Oxfordshire Museum, it has a walled garden with an ancient chestnut tree which appeared to have died a few years ago, but has been nursed back to life. It is underplanted with bulbs which flower from January through to May. There is also a dinosaur garden, reflecting the major discoveries made in Oxfordshire. The museum itself is interesting and has a gallery with changing exhibitions so there's generally something new to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.