Roja

Looking out from our villa we gaze over to the imposing sight of Montana Roja, an old extinct volcano a couple of miles away. And there's a path up to the top that you can see little figures trudging up.

"I'm going up that. Anyone coming?"

No takers. So I found myself on a little solo expedition for a couple of hours that included a walk around the rim and down a path into the old crater that was covered in scrubby little bushes and neatly arranged piles of volcanic stones that visitors had arranged to spell out their names. It was actually relatively easy going up and down in the sun, with a gentle breeze blowing at the top and great views all around the island. I'll be back.

I thought of two volcano-related songs whilst I was up there. The first was a clumsy cack-handed attempt by ex-Huskie Grant Hart all about Pompeii and the second was an old Liz Phair single whereby she likens her lover's sexual prowess to that of the geographical feature in question. Take it away, Liz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.