Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Dundee Reflections

In Dundee today for a meeting and had time for a quick snack at the DCA (Dundee Contemporary Arts). I played a tiny part in its formation as I sat on a ERDF funding group in the late 1990s that awarded it financial support. I remember visiting the City and hearing the convincing arguments as to why Dundee needed this to help keep its young people who were leaving in droves as soon as they had completed their education. It opened in 1999.

I had time for an even quicker look at an excellent exhibition by Dundee born artist Scott Myles, called This Production. The deconstructed brick wall, referencing the BEST Cutler Ridge Showroom in Miami, is great, but it was this, titled Analysis, that moved me most. Two recycled bus shelters, given a mirror finish and one mounted on top of the other. If one of the purposes of art is to cause you to reflect (ouch) on your surroundings, this did it for me.

I finished my schooling in Dundee and I like going back there to see the city moving on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.