Lifelines

If there's an emergency,
I'm your man:
I can rattle off a poem that'll
rhyme and scan.

I'll throw you a lifeline,
or maybe two;
alliteration's also
available to you.

I can add a little assonance
if that's your bag.
I can even write a poem
on a mayday flag.

If you find yourself in need,
in a crisis and in haste,
do let me know at once, for
there's no time to waste.

Yes, if there's an emergency,
here is the plan:
sign 'SOS - Send Poem' and
I'll do the best I can.

poem © Celia Warren 2012

Thanks for all the comments on my 'tree-felling' of yesterday. Don't feel too worried about all the work - I only pull up a handful each time I go in the garden, and the mower does the rest. I always think of the story of Sleeping Beauty, though, and how quickly a great big forest would grow around our castle (!) if it was left to nature for far less than 100 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.