Not morbid

at least I hope it's not... This is the Renwick Chapel of Washington's Oak Hill Cemetery, dating back to 1849. I've probably driven past that cemetery twice a week for the last 30 years, on my way home from work and had always been intrigued by the glimpses I got through its gates. Today, I took the time to stop and explore the place. It is quite beautiful and incredibly serene.

Its 15-acres are in what has to be the most prized real estate in Washington -- at the top of Georgetown, overlooking Rock Creek. It is fairly unique in its style, representative of the 19th century romantic movement, a natural (vs formal) English garden, which blends in with nature. It holds some of the oldest trees in Washington, having been spared the ax during the Civil War. Apparently, the only other such example is in Boston.

All its lots were sold long ago. But recently, as part of a renovation project, some walkways and paths are being excavated and new internment spaces made available underneath the paths. I found walking on those pathways slightly uncomfortable...

This link has the rest of my pictures of the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.