Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Out of Stock (bridge).

Looked on the JL website this morning. And there it was! The iPad I had my i on, and it wasn't listed as Out of Stock!!! In fact, there were FOUR of them. Quickly popped it in my (online) basket, went through the whole rigmarole, getting so excited that my fingers wouldn't work properly.

I whooped with glee as I clicked on 'Pick up tomorrow' from the Edinburgh store...

This is too good to be true...

Nearly there...

and got to the end...

THIS ITEM IS OUT OF STOCK.

Grrrrr. Four lucky people's fingers had worked faster than mine!

I had to go and have several Easter eggs (small ones that T&C left us) to console myself.

So, out bright and early (-ish) for a saunter along the Water of Leith. I feel increasingly guilty as the years go by and haven't walked at least a bit of it. Today's the day!

And what do you know. The council chose now to dig up half of it and fix flood protection bits at Stockbridge. So we only walked from Dean Village, about half an hour, but I took LOADS of photos. So just as well we only did a wee bit of it.

Time for a coffee at Stockbridge and a wander round past the (mostly charity) shops. I took a few street shots, but decided my blip today would be this charming little black bird. I do believe it's a blackbird. It came and sat and waited patiently while I fiddled with my settings - unlike a certain pigeon I know...

It cocked its little head this way and that, really, really begging to be my Blip of the Day. He's not exotic or gorgeously splendidly brightly coloured like all the other birds blipped daily. But the effort he put in was worth rewarding. The pics of the waterfalls, wells and bridges can wait for another day...

Went to the theatre last night. Brilliant play called 'For Once' by Tim Price. We had great seats right in the middle of the (second) front row. I never sit in the front row. I'm always afraid there's some interactive stuff and they need someone from the audience to humiliate.

In this theatre, there used to be just big square blocks to sit on, and you couldn't lean back unless you knew/wanted to get to know the person behind and rest on their legs. Not very comfy. However, they now have proper seats, all paid for by donations from the public, who get to put their name on a brass plate on the floor by their seat.

The name on the brass plate under my seat was
'This is a no-farting zone'.

That made me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.