With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Sollerics

The fine people of Soller await the evening's celebration of 100 years of the Tren de Soller.

The morning started familiarly early with a footy game for Ben away (10-0, hurrah!) a few coffees and bocadillos to get me going and then a big shop for Agu's 8th birthday tomorrow. Let's hope the weather holds.

Salida kept me updated on the day's sporting events and put a bet on the National for me. (It's only a few miles from where I was born and Little Old Mrs Pepperpot lives.) Of course I picked the one that shot out at the beginning. But I introduced little Agu to the joys of listening to live sport on the radio and we squealed for a good few minutes. Thanks Cap'n Mike!

Gathering our neurones, we went down to the train station for the celebration. The brass band played, the Xeremier's (bagpipes etc.) whirled , the long serving members of the train company were awarded with medals, the childrens' drawing competition winners were rewarded with models of the trains and the photographic competition results were announced. I got third prize (for the colour version of this) and a giant plastic cheque, which the boys paraded around town for a while. It was great to feel part of this valley, full of character, vitality and tradition.

Visca Soller, visca el tren, visca Soller!

Thank you so much for all the kind comments on my 1,000th Blip yesterday. It really is appreciated so much and I wish I could get the Xeremiers to give you all a whirl in appreciation xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.