Life, as I saw it...

By Jerry

Ever Watchful

My old friend stays nearby, a habit he's had since he was a young dog. Hardly obtrusive when I'm puttering about the place but let me stop and take a break and he's around my feet in moments. Waiting for a scrap from a snack, bringing me a stick to throw for him to fetch, or just getting within reach for a pat or a scratch.

This old mutt, although he looks intimidating, has the gentlest and most playful disposition I have ever seen in a dog. He barks at strangers, and when they alight from their transportation, he presents the ever present stick, ready to fetch.

I wonder sometimes if he has the protective spirit of his sire, if a bad situation developed in his presence. Now THERE was a dog with a growl and teeth to match (the sire).....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.