The Lord is My Shepherd

It was approximately eight years ago that I remember waking up to this kind of light washing through the curtains. My eyes were still closed and, for the first time, I had an incredible sense that I was sleeping on a pile of hay in a barn when the Shepherd gently pushed open the gate and began to lead me out into the field for the day.

An absolutely never before feeling washed over me that I was completely and utterly safe in His care. I could trust Him 100%, to lead me into my day, to the best grass, beside the clearest streams. I realized that this is what the 23 Psalm was all about. It was about complete peace and trust. It was about having the perfect guidance and protection through life. It was about giving up the desire to crash out of the gate going 100 miles a minute, running hither and yon, trying to figure out where the next meal was coming from and probably getting biffed by a big bad wolf. Laying there, I had no desire to open my eyes. It was so beautiful in my half dream, half awake state.

Today, bathed in the most amazing light, in the most perfect room, surrounded by the finest love the planet has to offer, powered by God's presence and filled with His grace, we watched and waited, snuggled Mother Comfort, laughed at each others stories, ate wonderful food brought by sister and Grammapat and listened as Mother Comfort breathed shallow and breathed deep. Sometimes steady, sometimes with breaks. But she breathed and breathed and a couple times closed her mouth with a faint little smile of satisfaction, probably because we warmed her up a bit and she was wishing we would realize she was chilly.

The kitty, Betty White, looked on. The Pastor read the 23rd Psalm to Mother Comfort, the music played. The Innkeepers sat still most of the day. Time is precious and we know she enjoyed this time today as well as it could possibly be enjoyed. I know I did. She chooses to be with us another day and is granted the breath to do it. We sleep wondering what tomorrow will bring.

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
for His Name's sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life;
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.