Lindseypinsey

By lindseypinsey

BMX Liam

My oldest Liam today at Western Park on his bmx.

He's a funny boy - he was so excited about going to Western Park, finding the BMX trails. Rushed us off the park infact as he wanted to get riding.
So we find the trails and he goes straight on but gives up at the first hurdle. He couldn't get up one of the hills/jumps so instead of listening to us peddling harder and faster he would have preferred to have moved to the next one.

Eventually on the third go with a lot of encouragement and praise he managed to get up. But he still wasn't pleased with himself he said he wouldn't be able to do it next time!!!

Then went round the corner and fell off into a big muddy puddle - which was hard not to laugh at. He said well now I'm all wet and muddy we need to go home. So I said its the fun of the sport getting muddy ignore it and carry on. He looked at me as if I had gone mad but did eventually accept it was ok to be muddy and carried on round the trails.

I have to be careful as I lose my patients with him over this BMX sport at the minute. We don't push him to do, I do however encourage when we are there. We have spent a lot of money on the bike, kit, helmet, taking him to training, races. But we have also made it very clear if he doesn't want to do it then tell us and we won't go.

Recently I've given him choices between a recent race and a party and he picked the bmx race so I let the mum know we couldn't make the party. We all took him to the race (my 4 year old too) its an all day thing with over 450 riders and starts at 9.30am. Due to the amount of riders it didn't finish till almost 7pm.
We get there and he doesn't try at all - I don't expect him to win he's not been doing it very long and doesn't have a lot of experience but I do expect to see him enjoying it and trying.
I felt at the end of the day he'd not had a good day, I was frustrated with him cos he hadn't tried and we'd all wasted a day.

I feel like that every time we take him, yet he still wants to go. I am encouraging and positive but he seems to give himself such a hard time and push himself to do things he's not that keen on doing, and I can not understand why.

Its not like he doesn't do other clubs and sports, he swims for a swimming club and has a technique lesson once a week - he's an amazing swimmer and is very natural at it. He goes to a football club once a week, is going Beavers with his friends from school.
He's constantly on his scooter or outside on the trampoline.

I can't decide if I should make the decision for him and stop going or continue and hope things improve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.