Wheatear Wonderland

Today we went to Orgreave. There have been lots of nice bird sightings reported from there recently so as the weather forecast didn't look too bad, we gave it a go. At first we thought we weren't going to see very much but then we started to see all kinds of birds, especially lots of wheatears. They are such a handsome bird and I'd been looking forward to seeing my first one of the year. I hadn't expected to see them in numbers but they seemed to have taken a shine to this site. There was also a solitary black-tailed godwit, oystercatchers, curlew, lapwing, great-crested grebe, ringed plover and little ringed plover and lots of skylark. We met a member of the bird study group who told us that there were lots of golden plover nearby, but sadly I didn't have the energy to retrace my steps to find them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.