2+3+1+1

By tpd

darn

Some time ago one of the phones used for testing stopped recognizing SIMs. "Oh well" I thought, "I'm sure it'll be something obvious". Unfortunately google seemed to be telling me that the most common cause of this problem was when you were too rough when inserting or removing SIMs, causing one of the contacts that connect to the chip on the SIM to be torn off.

Just to check, I thought I would take the phone to bits. Cue an interesting lunch break dismantling the phone. There must be a huge amount of effort in producing a hardware design for something so amazingly complex.

Verdict: definitely a broken SIM socket. Now to find someone that can fix it...

Took +1/3 and +2/3 to tennis this afternoon and they loved it despite getting soaked by the very heavy rain!

Quick bite to eat, band rehearsal this evening then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.