Hector's House

By MisterPrime

Sculpture

This spiky monster is above the door at Woodthorpe Library, where I worked for a few hours this morning. Presumably it's designed to dissuade burglars and miscreants who might think there's something worthwhile to be gained in climbing on top of an ancient prefab hut full of old books. On second thoughts, it's probably more a council precaution against legal action at the hands of the parents of reckless, climbing children. Actually, on that subject, my own parents were once mortified by a visit from the police, after I'd been seen with a group of friends climbing onto the roof of the local picturehouse for a laugh - I must have been about 8 or 9 at the time. I guess it just proves that I've always been a cinema buff! That said, I missed the last showing at Broadway of 'This Must Be The Place' last night, as Dave failed to get back to me in time about arrangements and I was feeling rough with cold or hayfever anyway (or some weird combination of the two, not sure...) - guess I'll just have to wait for the DVD to experience the intriguing concept of Sean Penn as an aging goth...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.