Common Crane - Grus grus

Another good day. I left in the morning to explore the local small roads with my Range Rover. It started quite well when I noticed couple of granes by the road only few kilometers from home.

I drove to Petäjävesi to see one of the major bird observation tower in Central Finland. There I saw amomg other things Green Sandpiper (metsäviklo), Common Greenshank (valkoviklo) and Common Buzzard (hiirihaukka).

When driving back home I managed to get nice pictures of lapwing (töyhtöhyyppä) too. I have tried it many times before too but no success. My tactic has been to abroach slowly with my car but earlier they have always flown away just when I was close enough. But not today. Same with the granes and golden eyes. It must be the Range Rover :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.