Highland Life

By Baron

The Real Thing

Came down from Inverness to York to meet my father and sister and her husband. This is a special occasion as it is my dad's 100th birthday this week.
He lives in Wales, so my sister and her husband arranged to take him to Elvington Aircraft Museum in York for the weekend It's one of his favourite places.
So we came down and arranged to meet them here.
My dad made a Chess set during the war by carving the pieces out of a broom handle. The chess set is on display in the tower at the Elvington Air field Air Museum.
Also at the museum were a lot of past aircraft, used in the war and after the war.
And one in particular was the Handley Page Victor V Bomber which I had worked on in the RAF.
I have showed a model of the Victor in a previous Blip, but now I am showing the real thing.
To me this is beauty personified. I don't think there is a more beautiful plane in the whole wide world.
So here is the Handley Page Victor in all its glory in real life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.