Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Bishops Bridge, Norwich

For better detail see it as a BIG BRIDGE.

Since I'm on a training course for the next 2 days and therefore can't do my usual Tuesday morning stint at one of the Norwich schools tomorrow, I went there this morning. I headed back to County Hall via the city centre and decided to stop off at Riverside to take some shots of Bishops Bridge at Bishopsgate, on the River Yare near to Pulls Ferry (which I blipped last year). As per yesterday, today I was undecided for ages about which of 2 possible blips to use. I settled on this one as I felt it made a change from the usual 'straight from the front' shots so often used for bridges.
It's a medieval bridge (see the info below) and still used by traffic. The white windowed pub behind it on the opposite side is the Red Lion.

Here's the other shot I almost blipped, a view from THE FRONT.

"Bishop Bridge is the only surviving medieval bridge in the city. It was built in 1340, so is one of the oldest bridges still in use in England. A fortified gatehouse stood on the bridge until the 18th century, and the semi-circular projection visible today is part of its outer turrets. In 1549 it became a battlefield, when Robert Kett's rebels fought royal troops. The rebels overcame the defenders, and ran amok through Norwich.
The arms of the city - a lion and castle - are carved over a central arch; the Red Lion pub probably derives its name from this. Originally owned by monks, the prior was allowed to build houses on the bridge but had to allow access for people and their horses beside the arches. In 1393 it was handed over to the city"

www.transportheritage.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.