Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mayhem at Toddlers' Group!

Tuesday: my day at the gym day with Leo. I went through the Meadows earlier than usual, hoping to catch a gorgeous sunrise on the glorious blossom.

I didn't.

Today Leo and I went to a Toddlers' Group. This was very exciting, because it necessitated taking a bus. With a buggy and infant. This is quite a traumatic experience for someone who has got this far and never done that!

Nae bother! Except that I forgot to put the pram brake on, and at the first corner, the buggy started to head off into the innards of the bus. But I casually put my foot on the front wheel. I didn't want to have to get up and let everyone know I hadn't put the brake on! I don't think anyone noticed.

Toddlers' Group was pretty casual. Turns out, it's not 'Drop In' as it says in the book, there is a Very Long Waiting List. But the disappointed look on my face must have been good. We were allowed to stay.

There were lots and lots of toys spread out on big soft mats all around the hall. The mums were sitting round the edge, ignoring the toddlers, yakking. There were some rather big 'toddlers' who dominated proceedings, and I noted on a couple of occasions some large 'toddler' take Leo's toy away. I would have gone and taken it back off them with a few strong words, but their mums looked a bit scary.

There was a cute wee girl in pink. Blonde, big blue eyes, stripy tights, walking round nicely with a pram. A wee while later there was this awful yelling, screaming, bawling like a banshee. Yes, it was the little cutie, throwing a massive tantrum. She kept it up for ages, curled up, in the middle of the floor. Where do they learn these things?

They sat at a table and had a snack and drink, and we also had some songs, including that old favourite, 'Hello Doughnuts'!

Big boys charging around, snatching toys from smaller kids, tantrums, tears, and not sharing. Mums gossiping, ignoring their little darlings. It was mayhem. All human life was there really. I was exhausted.

Today I found out how dangerous those 'tommy tippy' type cups for babies are. I was making up Leo's milk, closed the lid, put my finger over the wee holes (been caught out with that before!) and the whole thing burst open. Milk up the walls, bench, everything on the bench, me...

It reminded me of the last time I had a milky drink sprayed all over me and the surroundings...

I had just opened a burger bar, 60s theme, and so I had old type coffee and milk shake machines. The place was crowded, opening night, and I hadn't practiced making shakes. (Why would you? They're easy!) Went to make a strawberry milk shake, got it wrong, and it went all up the walls and all over me. Applause all round.

At least this time there was only Leo to see, and he probably thought that was normal.

I spent a lot of time, when Leo was asleep, following the cat around on my hands and knees. She was very elusive. I'd get near her and she'd scarper off. So when I did eventually get one I could use, I felt I should, otherwise I'd have to follow her around again next week.

Although the fur isn't in as sharp detail as I wanted, this one shows her green eyes. And her fluffy tail. And the green toy she'd been playing with was the deciding factor. She's a gorgeous cat. When Leo's father came home, he was holding Leo, and Sasha stalked in, and swiped at his ankle. SHE wanted fed straight away!

A female who demands to be noticed. And why not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.