Both Sides Now

By issybe

Dreaded day

Today is the day I dread so much each year and I lose sleep over it several nights before....

I am a fairly rational person and know full well that lightening doesn't strike twice, but I think the experience I had 5 years ago has traumatised me for the rest of my life.

Every parents' worst nightmare, to hear the words 'your son has been in an accident' worse still to have to ask whether he is still alive!

But he is a tough cookie and despite 23 trips to theater, 80 units of blood, 7 weeks or so in intensive care and against all the odds he pulled through.

Our endless gratitude goes to Mr Dunn and his amazing team at wythenshaw hospital! Huge respect for his wisdom, knowledge, skill and ability to deal with the unpredictable. Never seen a team in any other profession work so hard, so together and with such dedication.

Huge respect too for Max of course ... So many times when we thought he couldn't fight anymore and each time he surprised us and the medical team with his determination!

My sleepless nights each year now are a reminder to appreciate every day however tough it might seem as it can never be tougher than having to watch your child suffer and struggle so much!

Here is to Max...my hero!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.