Grandad

Today is one month since Grandad died. It feels like it was a long time ago, but at the same time it still feels like yesterday. Sometimes I'm ok, but today I've just wanted to cry. I can feel myself sinking lower.

Went for lunch with Faither yesterday and he gave me this. A fair few pages of my Grandad describing his relatives and letting me know where I come from. It turns out I'm related to a photographer (who set up his own studio), a series of printers and an aspiring actor (who wrote a Gilbert and Sullivan style opera and set up a drama group). It's weird how some skills and interests are carried on through the generations, whether or not they're known or planned.

He wrote this to me when I was 6. It's weird but lovely to read his words and know him better even though he's gone. I will treasure this for always.

RIP Grandad David. I love you. Thank you so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.