Fika

After some years, it has been discovered that I will do almost anything with the addition of the words "and then we will have coffee and cake."

As in, "how about we clean the house... And then we will have coffee and cake." "We should go and buy food for the week... And then we will have coffee and cake." More extreme examples include last weekend's double router debacle. ;-)

I blame my parents of course for this weakness, as coffee and cake is something of a family ritual. And perhaps my 'Swedish heritage' (which doesn't really exist but I have been to Ikea a hell of a lot).

So joyously discovered yesterday that the Swedes actually have a name for coffee and cake: fika. It's both a noun and a verb.

Here is Saturday's fika, adorned with a candle as it was Karen's birthday on Friday and the celebrations continue :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.