A Lazy Sunday Blip

My daughter and son-in-laws street has about 10-12 houses on it. A couple times a year the whole street has a street work bee. Power saws and weed wackers and power blowers. The street looks real nice. After the work is done...they have a pot-luck.

My wife and I went over to watch the baby. He was already down for his nap. We settled in on the couch...Lisa reading the paper, me watching the Detroit Tigers. We both drifted off. My daughter came sneaking in through the garage, and caught us both asleep. She decided to not pay us our babysitting fees. HA!

I got the bleeding hearts in her neighbors back yard. Pretty flower.


About our "mystery" trip last night. After dinner at Bob Evans...Lisa told me to get on the E-way, and go north...but only for one exit. She said we were going to Lake Fenton High School. I think my dad and I had the same thought. "Please don't let it be a high school musical...something like Hairspray."

It wasn't. It was a group of kids, and their name was Fiddlers Restrung. 16 kids...14 of which were high school students from Saline, Mi. The other 2 were the teachers/leaders of the group. 16 instruments...11 fiddles, 1 cello, 1 mandolin, 1 keyboard, and a bass guitar.

The talent was unbelievable! Where do they find so many kids that want to play the fiddle? 11 girls and 5 guys. And...on top of the music...they sang and danced, too.

Both my dad and I probably tend to be a little critical. Every week at church...we have to critique the soloist. Drives Lisa nuts. We think we are just being fair and objective.

When the kids were playing their instruments...SUPERB! Some of the singing was suspect. The sound system left a little to be desired. They each took turns introducing the next song...and, LIKE...they could have done a better...ya know...LIKE...more...LIKE... a more polished job at that.

As Tony the Tiger says..."the night was GREAT!!! It made you have some needed confidence in the generation that is coming up. I love to see kids (and adults) work at something, and have that something come together. It warms the cockles of my heart, and it tickles my innards. I left the auditorium feeling great to be alive and kickin. Fiddle-riff-ic!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.