October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Reykholt collage

After the winter at Staðarstaður, see yesterday, we vent to Reykholt for two months to revise the curriculum and take the exams. Snorri Sturluson (1179 - 1241) who was an Icelandic historian, poet, and politician lived and worked here. More about him here and it is all true as far a s we know even though it is Wikipedia.

Our room was the two windows farthest to the right, third row from top, so we could sneak out from the hallway down the sod house and take a bath in Snorralaug. Snorri was so clever that he had a hot outdoor bath from the hot spring and the bath and the buildings have been preserved to some extent. Think about it for a moment - taking a bath in the pond that Snorri - OK - it's Red (Gudbjorn) and Eddi (Eggert) who are in the pond. Eddi was from Keflavik and drowned at sea a year later. He was found and we his roommates vent to his funeral. He was the fitht friend I lost in five years; not one a year though and I think it has something to do with it why I am a loner.

The other photos are a drawing of Snorri and beneath I and Tommi (the black) who taught me to smoke a pipe, cigarettes came later and I with "bad company" pushing a car of one of my friends.

The background is pages from Snorri's Prose Edda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.