A rural life for me

By Rhubarrb

My swallows are home!

As I mentioned yesterday I was hugely excited to see my first swallows back. Our house has quite deep eaves and the swallows love love love them!! Nests everywhere!! So I have been waiting for a few weeks now to see them return from warmer climes far away. It always amazes me that they choose our wee house in the middle of nowhere - do they come back to the same house? Are the swallows here the babies that were raised here last year?

So sat out this morning (gorgeous day here as you can see from the beautiful blue sky) at the table and took some shots as about 3 or 4 swallows swooped about. (House martins have arrived too).

Trying to catch them in flight is near on impossible by I managed a few as they took off. I know I have added quite a few links but I so think they all had to be included!! Such pretty birds!

Took this pair but I am not sure if they were fighting or flirting!
I love the tail detail on this one.
I caught this one landing - I love the shadows on the roof too!
This one I think shows off the wing feathers nicely.
And finally this shot was taken last year and I absolutely adore it!! I have never known what to do with it until blip came along. Can't wait for this sight this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.