Vivid Seal

By seal

Busy Brushes

Six weeks ago I remember walking around our local bowling centre with the boys in a state of shock. It was a family day out arranged by my sister, a chance for me to take my mind off things and have some fun before the new school term started. Having arrived early before the others it hit me like a ton of bricks how my life was about to change and the task I had ahead in being Dad. I've come a long way in that time and now I'm starting to realise that whatever capacity my role as Dad takes I will always be there for my boys.

They arrived nice and early this morning and the wet weather meant I had to think on my feet. With the duvet dragged off the bed, some cardboard from the garage and the vacuum cleaner for an engine we suddenly had a makeshift boat cruising across the sea of sharks that would normally be the landing. The fun lasted for a good couple of hours before I made the brave decision to pull out the poster paints. There is something satisfying about watching a 21 month old and 4 year old with busy brushes and no restrictions. Even the clean up operation with them both sat on the edge of the kitchen sink brought a smile to face.

The afternoon was filled with some more swimming practice and rubber ring fun on the waterslide, with Rhys and I giggling from top to bottom whilst my Mum and Iestyn watched from afar. Who needs television?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.