Rusty pipes

I set off this evening to the preview of the Stroud Valleys Arts festival which will now run for the next month. SVA who've organised it have taken over a lease on the Brunel Goods Shed, whose recent restoration I have been involved with as a trustee of Stroud Preservation Trust.

I thought it would be interesting to blip an interior shot of the event inside the Shed, but on arrival I found that the building was blacked out for Sometimes Still, the six-screen high-definition video Darren Almond photographed near Kyoto, Japan, over several years. This will be its first showing in the UK.

I felt somewhat scuppered so after watching the video, which left me a bit cold, literally, I went off for a walk on the other side of the railway tracks, the canal and the river. There I found the quiet backwaters of the River Frome, where a yard had been built next to some old railway arches. Behind a chain link fence were stacks of pipes, some aluminium but mostly of rusting iron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.