Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The TV-am building, Camden

I was reminded of this building recently when my train was diverted along the back of Camden Lock and I saw the familiar egg cups of Terry Farrell's postmodern building still lining the roof.

Parking in Hawley Crescent I was dismayed to see that the TV-am letters on the side had been covered over with large meaningless metal circles.

I was at college in Bristol during the advent of breakfast telly and remember my fellow students and I obligingly trotting out to the Downs one Sunday morning to spell out "Good Morning Britain" with out bodies on the grass.

Today the building is occupied by MTV and its interior largely remodeled. I only went inside once during its original incarnation and found the theme of the sun's movements from east to west charming if somewhat garish first thing in the morning before the first cup of coffee.

I wonder what it looks like inside now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.